Tuesday, 19 January 2016

STAY

Author: Deb Caletti
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Publishing date: 2012
Pages: 313

When Clara beholds Christian, everything changes. They fall in love at instant moment and their relationship is very exquisite right from the beginning. Everything between them is perfect but then Christian starts to be afraid that he might loose what they have together because perfect things don't last. Nevertheless, his fear outgrow to an obsession which eventually leads to the very point he was so afraid of.

"Love must be more about power than we think, if even in its most intimate moments of expression we think about not being the one who risks the most."

I was induced to read this book by one booktuber. She has been talking about it for so many times that I was completely sure I had to read it. Well now, I wasn't expecting anything extraordinary but the book has totally surprised me. It actually is an exceptional book. Very well written and remarkable. And it came to me in the best moment possible. Because that story helped me to open my eyes. I needed it, you know, because I am in a huge foreign city, alone, and I am a bit too much dewy-eyed sometimes. Stay is about what can happen when you think you know someone by heart. You should know that you cannot even trust your heart if it comes to love. Let's just face it, we are crazy when we are in love...

"It's strange, isn't it, how that idea of belonging to someone can sound so great? It can be comforting, the way it makes things decided. We like the thought of being held, until it's too tight. We like that certainty, until it means there is no way out. And we like being his, until we realize we're not ours anymore."

I was reading this book every morning whilst traveling by subway to the center of the city as well as on the way back to home. And I was actually really looking forward to those moments spent between the pages. The story was very intense and even though it discussed a really dark side of love, it was beautiful and inspiring, too. The main character Clara had told the story of hers retrospectively and the bits and pieces of the past has been mingled with the present. Deb Caletti has written the story in such a stirring way that I almost forgot to get off the train most of time. And it was even funny sometimes so I didn't know exactly if I should to smile or be horrified of the things that had happend in the plot line. The author of this book has used lots of footnotes which was also very unique part of the story and made the reading experience quite spectacular, too.

"Fate is a shape-shifter. It is the kindest and most generous entity imaginable, laying out more goodness than a person deserves, and then it shrinks and curls and forms into something grotesque. You think something is one thing, but then it's another."

This was the first book by Deb Caletti I have ever read but now I know I must to read others by hers as soon as possible. I do have my favourite authors to whom I like to return again and again. But it always surprises me when I find some new favorites. The front cover of this book says that it is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen. And you know that I am a huge fan of hers. I hadn't believed it, though, until I read it. Well now, I usually don't like to compare books and their authors but this time I have to agree with that affirmation. Deb Caletti has everything in her books that I adore about Sarah Dessen as well. There is emphasis on family and friendship. And there is always a certain enlightment that comes from their stories. Nevertheless, they are both diffrent anyway. I am just very happy for I have found another author that is so close to my heart...

Ratings: 5/5

1 comment:

  1. Píšeš tak nádherné recenze. Zbožňuju tvůj přístup ke knihám, mám to úplně stejně. Tato kniha musí být výjimečná. Mám chuť si jí hned přečíst. :-)

    ReplyDelete